The three stages of Puig i Cadafalch’s work

 Puig i Cadafalch is generally known as one of the great modernist architects. The one that not so many people know are the other stages of his time. Modernisme was only the beginning of Puig i Cadafalch’s work, today we discover all his career:

According to Alexandre Cirici and Pellicer, Puig and Cadafalch’s work is easily divided into three stages: the pink, the white and the yellow. These three stages are not only related to the fashions and tastes of the moment, but also to the architects he admired and studied throughout his life.

Pink period

The first is the pink period or the Modernist stage, the best known. This is the period in which he designed his well-known and large Modernist buildings such as the Casa Amatller, the Casa Macaya or the Casa de les Punxes. During these years, Puig i Cadafalch will have Nordic influences and will work for big bourgeois families, designing big houses for them.

Casa Amatller, Casa Macaya and Casa de les Punxes.White period

The white period corresponds to the stage of rationalist idealism. During this period, Puig i Cadafalch projected his works according to the new tastes of the bourgeoisie: order and practicality. During these years he projected works such as the now disappeared Casa Trinxet, Casa Muntades or Casa Pere Company.

Casa Trinxet, Casa Muntades and Casa Pere Company

Yellow period

The third stage is the Monumentalist, characterized by the yellowish color of the facades, the monumentalism of the buildings and the mixture of styles of his works. In this stage we find buildings that start from the Roman architecture and that are mixed with typical Andalusian or Valencian styles, resulting in a very special beauty. During this period Puig i Cadafalch designed such singular works as the Casa Pich y Pon. This was inspired by the work of Louis Henry Sullivan, an American architect he admired.

Casa Pich i Pon